A Restricted fire season is in operation on all Public Conservation Lands. You need to apply for a fire permit (external link) for any fire type that is not listed below:

  • Gas-operated appliances
  • Campfires in a permanent fireplace
  • Cooking and warming fires

For full descriptions of these fire types and conditions of use, see Fire types (external link)

A Restricted fire season is in operation for all coastal areas and the Whangamarino Swamp. Apply for a fire permit (external link)

A Prohibited fire season is in operation for Waiuku Forest, Maramarua Forest, and Onewhero Forest.

Note that any fire you light may have requirements to meet with Waikato District Council and Waikato Regional Council.

Fire and Emergency
0800 658 628