Fire Zone 4

The Nelson Tasman district runs a 365 day Restricted Fire Season for all areas except Marahau, Kaiteriteri forest, Otuwhero inlet, Towers Bay and Tokongawa, which run a 365 day prohibited Fire Season.

  • Fires that do not require a fire permit include:¬†

    • Gas cooker or gas barbeque
    • Contained barbeque
    • Braziers
    • Permanent outdoor fireplaces


  • Subject to the following conditions:

    • Fuels must be restricted to gas, liquid, charcoal or solid wood
    • Five metres of non-flammable area surrounds the fire to ensure the fire does not spread
    • There is no risk of embers carrying to surround flammable material
    • There is water available to extinguish the fire
    • Continuous supervision is undertaken until the fire is fully extinguished
    • The fire is extinguished if a strong wind is blowing

NO FIRES allowed in Abel Tasman National Park other than approved permanent fireplaces.

Nelson Tasman Fire and Emergency 
66 Oxford Street
03 544 2441