A restricted fire season and 1km fire safety margin are in operation in the following areas:

  • Registered forest areas in the Otago Rural Fire District; or where a forest owner has made suitable arrangements regarding fire control with Otago Fire and Emergency
  • High value conservation areas as identified by the stakeholder organisations
  • High risk or high value areas as identified by Otago fire reduction assessment.

Contact for details and maps: www.otagoruralfire.org.nz(external link)

A prohibited fire zone is in operation for the following areas:

  • Mount Iron
  • Ruby Island, Stevensons, Mou Waho and Mou Tapu Islands, Lake Wanaka
  • Albert Town Recreation Reserve and Campground


Fire and Emergency New Zealand
85 Castle Street
0800 673 473
www.otagoruralfire.org.nz(external link)